France Name 32-Man Six Nations Squad

French players form a huddle after the Rugby World Cup Pool D match between France and Ireland at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff, Wales, Sunday, Oct. 11, 2015. Ireland won the match 24-9. (AP Photo/Alastair Grant)

New France head coach Guy Novès has named a 32-man squad for the upcoming 2017 Six Nations.

Among the surprise selections is Toulouse centre Yann David, whose last cap for France came against the All Blacks back in 2009. Two uncapped players named in the squad include La Rochelle’s Mohamed Boughanmi and Brive back-row Fabien Sanconnie.

France take on current Grand Slam champions England in the opening round, with Eddie Jones set to name his squad on Friday.


Assistant coach Yannick Bru says their players must continue to work hard if they are to once again compete with the very best.

“Our players must continue to work hard, and they know that, to compete with the best,” Bru said.

“We must be able to remain accurate even when playing at high intensity. When you are pushed by the opponent you commits errors, it is inescapable. We must be able to maintain a clear head when ours hearts are beating hard.”

France take on England at Twickenham on February 4th.



France squad for the Six Nations

Forwards: Uini Atonio (La Rochelle), Cyril Baille  (Toulouse), Eddy Ben Arous (Racing 92), Mohamed Boughanmi (La Rochelle), Camille Chat (Racing 92), Damien Chouly (Clermont), Loann Goujon (Bordeaux-Bègles), Kevin Gourdon (La Rochelle), Guilhem Guirado (Toulon), Arthur Iturria (Clermont), Raphaël Lakafia (Stade Français), Julien Le Devedec (Brive), Yoann Maestri (Toulouse), Clément Maynadier (Bordeaux-Bègles), Louis Picamoles (Northampton Saints), Fabien Sanconnie (Brive), Rabah Slimani (Stade Français), Sébastien Vahaamahina (Clermont)

Backs: Djibril Camara (Stade Français), Yann David (Toulouse), Jean-Marc Doussain (Toulouse), Gaël Fickou (Toulouse), Wesley Fofana (Clermont), Yoann Huget (Toulouse), Rémi Lamerat (Clermont), Camille Lopez (Clermont), Maxime Machenaud (Racing 92), Noa Nakaitaci (Clermont), Geoffrey Palis (Castres), Baptiste Serin (Bordeaux-Bègles), Scott Spedding (Clermont), Virimi Vakatawa (FFR)

Follow Me