Four Changes For Ireland As Team Named For World Cup Clash With Japan

Round 2.

Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt has named his 23-man squad to play Japan in the second game of the Rugby World Cup. Rob Kearney and Keith Earls have recovered from injury and are included in the back three alongside Jacob Stockdale.

Garry Ringrose is joined in the centre by Chris Farrell while Jack Carty will start alongside Conor Murray. The pack remains unchanged with Cian Healy and Tadhg Furlong packing down either side of captain Rory Best.

Iain Henderson will win his 50th cap for Ireland and he is again partnered with James Ryan. Henderson won his first cap against South Africa in 2012. Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier and CJ Stander form an unchanged back-row.

Joey Carbery has recovered from injury and is named in the replacements. Sean Cronin is in line for his first appearance as he is included on the bench.

Ireland team vs Japan

15. Rob Kearney
14. Keith Earls
13. Garry Ringrose
12. Chris Farrell
11. Jacob Stockdale
10. Jack Carty
9. Conor Murray
1. Cian Healy
2. Rory Best (c)
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Iain Henderson
5. James Ryan
6. Peter O’Mahony
7. Josh van der Flier
8. CJ Stander

16. Sean Cronin
17. Dave Kilcoyne
18. Andrew Porter
19. Tadhg Beirne
20. Rhys Ruddock
21. Luke McGrath
22. Joey Carbery
23. Jordan Larmour

Follow Me