Five Players Shortlisted For 2021 European Player Of The Year Award

Best of the best.

La Rochelle and Toulouse have received added recognition following their qualification for the Heineken Champions Cup final at Twickenham Stadium as their star performers dominate the prestigious shortlist for the 2021 EPCR European Player of the Year award.

Antoine Dupont, Jerome Kaino and team captain, Julien Marchand, from four-time tournament winners, Toulouse, all remain in the running for the accolade after the initial 15 nominees were trimmed to five based on the combined verdict of a renowned panel of rugby experts along with almost 20,000 participants in the public vote.

Meanwhile, first-time tournament finalists, La Rochelle, have Grégory Alldritt and Will Skelton in the shortlist, both having made try-scoring contributions during the impressive semi-final win over Leinster Rugby.

Voting for one of the most prized individual awards in world rugby has now reopened on and the winner and recipient of the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy will be announced following the Heineken Champions Cup final on Saturday 22 May.

2021 EPCR European Player of the Year shortlist

Grégory ALLDRITT (La Rochelle)
Antoine DUPONT (Toulouse)
Jerome KAINO (Toulouse)
Julien MARCHAND (Toulouse)
Will SKELTON (La Rochelle)

Judging Panel – Erik Bonneval (beIN SPORTS), Bryan Habana (Channel 4), Sonja McLaughlan (BBC Radio 5 Live), Alan Quinlan (Virgin Media), Dimitri Yachvili (France Télévisions)

Roll of Honour – 2020 Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs); 2019 Alex Goode (Saracens); 2018 Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92); 2017 Owen Farrell (Saracens); 2016 Maro Itoje (Saracens); 2015 Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne); 2014 Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon); 2013 Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon); 2012 Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby); 2011 Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby); 2010 Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby – best player of first 15 years of European professional club competitions)

Follow Me