Five Players Shortlisted For European Player Of The Year

Best in Europe.

Exeter Chiefs, Racing 92, Bordeaux-Bègles and Bristol Bears are all represented on the prestigious shortlist for the 2020 EPCR European Player of the Year award after the 15 initial nominees were trimmed to five based on the combined verdict of a distinguished panel of rugby experts and a public vote.

The final five includes four players whose performances were vital in taking their clubs to the Heineken Champions Cup final at Ashton Gate next month.

Exeter are represented by the leading try-scorer in this season’s tournament, Sam Simmonds, as well as Stuart Hogg, whose international colleague Finn Russell makes it onto the list for Racing, alongside Virimi Vakatawa.

Semi Radradra’s selection comes on the back of a stellar series of performances in the European Rugby Challenge Cup for Bordeaux-Bègles during the pool stage, and more recently for finalists, Bristol Bears.

Voting has now reopened on and the winner and recipient of the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy will be announced following the Heineken Champions Cup final in Bristol on Saturday 17 October.

EPCR European Player of the Year shortlist

STUART HOGG (Exeter Chiefs)
SEMI RADRADRA (Bristol Bears/Bordeaux-Bègles)
FINN RUSSELL (Racing 92)
SAM SIMMONDS (Exeter Chiefs)

Judging panel
Erik Bonneval (beIN SPORTS), Bryan Habana (Channel 4), Emmanuel Massicard (Midi Olympique), Sonja McLaughlan (BBC Radio 5 Live), Brian O’Driscoll (BT Sport), Alan Quinlan (Virgin Media), Dimitri Yachvili (France Télévisions)

Roll of Honour
2019: Alex Goode (Saracens)
2018: Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92)
2017: Owen Farrell (Saracens)
2016: Maro Itoje (Saracens)
2015: Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne)
2014: Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon)
2013: Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon)
2012: Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby)
2011: Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby)
2010: Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby – best player of first 15 years of European club rugby)

Follow Me