England Team Named For Autumn Nations Cup Clash With Wales This Weekend


Eddie Jones has named his England team for their Autumn Nations Cup clash against Wales this weekend. England will travel to Llanelli, where they will take on the hosts at Parc y Scarlets on Saturday 28 November (4pm KO), looking to make it three tournament wins in three.

George Ford returns to the starting line-up at fly-half, after returning from injury as a finisher in last week’s 18-7 win over Ireland. Captain Owen Farrell moves to inside centre with Henry Slade at outside centre.

After becoming England men’s joint second highest try scorer against Ireland, Jonny May continues at left wing while Jonathan Joseph is on the right wing. Elliot Daly at fullback and Ben Youngs is scrumhalf.

England name an unchanged forward pack. In the back row, Billy Vunipola will play at No.8, with Tom Curry (blindside) and Sam Underhill (openside) as flankers.

Mako Vunipola (loose-head prop), Kyle Sinckler (tight-head prop) and Jamie George (hooker) make up the front row. Maro Itoje remains at lock with Joe Launchbury to complete the tight five.

Luke Cowan-Dickie and Anthony Watson return from injury as finishers. They are joined by Ben Earl, Ellis Genge, Jonny Hill, Dan Robson, Will Stuart and Jack Willis.

“We’re expecting another tough match, and at the home of Welsh Rugby where the heart and soul of their game is,” Eddie Jones said.

“Twelve months ago, Wales were Grand Slam champions and three points from a World Cup final, so we know what they are capable of.

“We’ve picked the best 23 players for the battle and we’re looking forward to it greatly.”

England team vs Wales

15. Elliot Daly (Saracens, 45 caps)
14. Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 53 caps)
13. Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 32 caps)
12. Owen Farrell (Saracens, 86 caps)
11. Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 59 caps)
10. George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 70 caps)
9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 102 caps)
1. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 62 caps)
2. Jamie George (Saracens, 52 caps)
3. Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 38 caps)
4. Maro Itoje (Saracens, 41 caps)
5. Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 67 caps)
6. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 26 caps)
7. Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 20 caps)
8. Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 54 caps)

16. Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 24 caps)
17. Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 21 caps)
18. Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 6 caps)
19. Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs, 2 caps)
20. Ben Earl (Bristol Bears, 6 caps)
21. Jack Willis (Wasps, 1 cap)
22. Dan Robson (Wasps, 5 caps)
23. Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 44 caps)

Follow Me