England Boss Eddie Jones Takes Sarcastic Dig At Referee Following Defeat To Wales
Latest posts by Jason Hennessy (see all)
- “It’s A Cool Subplot” – Conor Murray Looking Forward To Facing Pal Simon Zebo This Weekend - November 19, 2019
- Saracens Handed Yet Another Fine – This Time By The EPCR - November 19, 2019
- Potential Double Fitness Boost For Munster Ahead Of Crucial Clash With Racing 92 - November 19, 2019
Wales became the number one ranked team in the world over the weekend after they exacted revenge on England for their defeat at Twickenham, with a 13-6 win at the Principality Stadium on Saturday.
The crucial try of the game came not long before half-time thanks to a beautiful cross-field kick from Dan Biggar that plucked from the air by George North for a clear run in.
But the build-up to that score was not without controversy as Wales took a quick tap penalty while Anthony Watson was still leaving the field after being shown a yellow card.
Dan Biggar, take a bow!
— Channel 4 Sport (@C4Sport) August 17, 2019
England thought the game wouldn’t be restarted until Watson had left the field – but Wales had other plans. And in the wake of those events, England boss Eddie Jones has had a sarcastic dig at referee Pascal Gauzere.
“I think we all thought that was the law [waiting for the player to leave]. So maybe the yellow card should have gone to the referee.” Jones said
“It is what it is. We had to cope with whatever he decided was right. And if he wants a variation of the law, we’ve got to be good enough to cope with it.”
“It’s not worth going into it because I don’t want that to be the headline of the game. It happened, we had to cope with it, didn’t cope with it, and they scored their winning try. So be it.”
However, there is no law requiring the referee to pause the game until the carded player is off the field – so technically Wales did nothing wrong. Sorry Eddie!
Eddie Jones refused to be drawn on Wales taking a quick free-kick while Ben Youngs was waiting to come onto the pitch as a replacement for Willi Heinz pic.twitter.com/uiCEx3GOZ1
— ITV Rugby (@ITVRugby) August 18, 2019