Eddie Jones Calls Up 15 Uncapped Players As Squad Named For Argentina Tour

Eddie Jones has called up 15 uncapped players for England’s two-Test tour of Argentina this summer.

Bath bound Ospreys flanker Sam Underhill, Piers Francis and Denny Solomona are all included in the 31-man squad, which will be captained by Dylan Hartley.

Solomona, the cross-code star who has played 13 games of union for Sale, gets the nod after qualifying on residency grounds while there are also call ups for uncapped props Will Collier and Harry Williams, flankers Ben and Tom Curry and lock Nick Isiekwe.

In the backs uncapped scrum-half Jack Maunder gets the nod alongside Saracens ten Alex Lozowski, potential debutant wingers Joe Cokanasiga and Nathan Earle, centres Sam James and Joe Marchant and versatile back Harry Mallinder.

James Haskell, Joe Launchbury, Chris Robshaw, Mike Brown, George Ford, Jonny May and Danny Care all included, but there’s no room in the squad for Tommy Taylor, Christian Wade, Dan Robson, Joe Simpson, Danny Cipriani and Semesa Rokoduguni.

“We have picked the best squad we have available and we are looking forward to going to Argentina and winning 2-0,” said England head coach Jones.
“The squad have a great opportunity to represent their country and win for England. There are a few new faces in the set-up so every training session and team meeting will count.
“The Pumas are a physically aggressive side and they have become very good at playing unstructured rugby; we need to make sure we control the structural part of the game and our defence will play an absolutely crucial role.
“Dylan Hartley will lead the side again having captained the team excellently during the RBS 6 Nations and will be supported by vice-captains Mike Brown, Danny Care and George Ford.”

England squad:

Forwards: Will Collier (Harlequins), Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Ben Curry (Sale Sharks), Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby), Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers), Dylan Hartley – captain (Northampton Saints), James Haskell (Wasps), Paul Hill (Northampton Saints), Nathan Hughes (Wasps), Nick Isiekwe (Saracens), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Matt Mullan (Wasps), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Sam Underhill (Ospreys/Bath Rugby), Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs), Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)

Backs: Mike Brown – vice-captain (Harlequins), Danny Care – vice captain (Harlequins), Joe Cokanasiga (London Irish), Nathan Earle (Saracens), George Ford – vice captain (Bath Rugby), Piers Francis (Auckland Blues/Northampton Saints), Sam James (Sale Sharks), Alex Lozowski (Saracens), Harry Mallinder (Northampton Saints), Joe Marchant (Harlequins), Jack Maunder (Exeter Chiefs), Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks)

Follow Me