Details Revealed For Restructured 2018 Super Rugby Season

SANZAAR has announced the match schedule for the restructured 2018 Super Rugby tournament.

Following the exit of the Cheetahs, Southern Kings and Western Force, the tournament will once again revert to a 15-team, 3 conference system. Japanese franchise the Sunwolves will play in the Australian conference, while Argentinian side the Pumas will be in with the South Africans.

Each team will play 16 Conference matches that include eight matches within their own Conference (home and away) and four matches against teams from each of the other Conferences (home or away) and has two byes. The finals will comprise an eight team, seven match series.

New Zealand Conference:
Blues, Chiefs, Crusaders, Highlanders, Hurricanes

Australian Conference:
Brumbies, Rebels, Reds, Waratahs, Sunwolves

South African Conference: 
Bulls, Lions, Sharks, Stormers, Jaguares.

The 2018 Super Rugby tournament starts on Saturday 17 February when the South African Conference kicks-off with the Stormers hosting the Jaguares in Cape Town. Last seasons runners-up the Lions host the Sharks in Johannesburg, while the Bulls will have a bye.

The Australian and New Zealand Conferences will kick-off a week later when the defending champions the Crusaders open the defence of their title at home against the Chiefs. The Brumbies begin their season against the Sunwolves in Tokyo.

You can view the full match schedule here.

Follow Me