Craig Casey Starts As Ireland Team Named For Clash With The USA In Dublin

Summer series.

Andy Farrell and his coaching team have named the Ireland side to face the USA at the Aviva Stadium in the final fixture of the Vodafone Summer Series.

James Ryan wears the captain’s armband and is partnered in the second row by Ryan Baird who makes his first start for Ireland. In the back-row, Caelan Doris switches to the blindside flank to accommodate Gavin Coombes at No.8 with the uncapped Nick Timoney lining out at openside.

In the front row Tom O’Toole is set to make his international debut alongside Ronan Kelleher and Dave Kilcoyne.

Craig Casey will make his first start for Ireland and will partner his provincial colleague Joey Carbery at half-back. Stuart McCloskey retains the inside centre berth and is joined by fellow Ulsterman debutant James Hume. Hugo Keenan starts his 13th consecutive game for Ireland and is supported in the back field by Andrew Conway and the uncapped Robert Baloucoune.

The replacements include Dave Heffernan, Ed Byrne, Finlay Bealham, Will Addison and the uncapped quartet Fineen Wycherley, Paul Boyle, Caolin Blade and Harry Byrne. The match will be televised by RTE (ROI) and on Channel 4’s YouTube channel (NI) and kicks off at 7.15pm.

Ireland team to play USA – 10th July 2021, Aviva Stadium

15. Hugo Keenan
14. Robert Baloucoune
13. James Hume
12. Stuart McCloskey
11. Andrew Conway
10. Joey Carbery
9. Craig Casey

1. Dave Kilcoyne
2. Ronan Kelleher
3. Tom O’Toole
4. Ryan Baird
5. James Ryan (c)
6. Caelan Doris
7. Nick Timoney
8. Gavin Coombes

16. Dave Heffernan
17. Ed Byrne
18. Finlay Bealham
19. Fineen Wycherley
20. Paul Boyle
21. Caolin Blade
22. Harry Byrne
23. Will Addison

Follow Me