Cheika Springs Massive Selection Call As Australia Name Team For England Clash

Big call.

Wallabies 19-year-old rookie Jordan Petaia will play 13 for the first time in Test rugby in one of a number of changes to Australia’s lineup for Saturday’s Rugby World Cup quarter-final against England.

Petaia is among six changes to the Wallabies’ starting XV for this weekend’s clash, five of those coming in the backline.

Will Genia will pair up with Christian Lealiifano at halfback against England, for the first time since they started against the Pumas in Brisbane in July. Reece Hodge will start on the wing in his first match back from a three-match suspension.

Kurtley Beale has been named to start at fullback, clearing all of his return to play protocols after a head knock against Georgia.

Dane Haylett-Petty is the unlucky man in the backline to miss out on the 23 altogether, with coach Michael Cheika opting instead for James O’Connor and Matt To’omua in a 5-3 split on the bench.

Wallabies team to play England

1. Scott Sio (62 Tests)
2. Tolu Latu (18 Tests)
3. Allan Alaalatoa (36 Tests)
4. Izack Rodda (24 Tests)
5. Rory Arnold (25 Tests)
6. David Pocock (82 Tests)
7. Michael Hooper (c) (98 Tests)
8. Isi Naisarani (7 Tests)

9. Will Genia (109 Tests)
10. Christian Lealiifano (25 Tests)
11. Marika Koroibete (27 Tests)
12. Samu Kerevi (vc) (32 Tests)
13. Jordan Petaia (2 Tests)
14. Reece Hodge (38 Tests)
15. Kurtley Beale (91 Tests)

16. Jordan Uelese (8 Tests)
17. James Slipper (95 Tests)
18. Taniela Tupou (18 Tests)
19. Adam Coleman (37 Tests)
20. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto (20 Tests)
21. Nic White (30 Tests)
22. Matt To’omua (51 Tests)
23. James O’Connor (51 Tests)

Follow Me