Brian O’Driscoll Selects His British & Irish Lions XV For South Africa


Former Ireland centre Brian O’Driscoll has had a go at picking his British and Irish Lions XV for their series against South Africa next year.

O’Driscoll, who toured with the Lions on four occasions captained them in 2001, was speaking on Off The Ball, with just two Irishmen making his selection – Tadhg Furlong and James Ryan.

His selection is dominated by World Cup finalists England with no fewer than eight of Eddie Jones’ players named in his XV – including Manu Tuilagi at 12, Owen Farrell a 10 and Maro Itoje at 6 to accommodate James Ryan and Alun Wyn Jones in the second-row.

Jones is joined by fellow Welshmen Jonathan Davies at 13 and Tomos Williams at 9 with two Scottish players in Stuart Hogg and Rory Sutherland making up his selection.

Brian O’Driscoll’s British & Irish Lions XV

15. Stuart Hogg (Scotland)
14. Anthony Watson (England)
13. Jonathan Davies (Wales)
12. Manu Tuilagi (England)
11. Jonny May (England)
10. Owen Farrell (England)
9. Tomos Williams (Wales)

1. Rory Sutherland (Scotland)
2. Jamie George (England)
3. Tadhg Furlong (Ireland)
4. James Ryan (Ireland)
5. Alun Wyn Jones (Wales)
6. Maro Itoje (England)
7. Sam Underhill (England)
8. Billy Vunipola (England)

Follow Me