Breaking: Munster & Ulster Teams Named For Inter-Pro Clash

Munster and Ulster have named their teams for this weekend’s inter-provincial PRO12 clash.

Ulster’s starting XV shows just three changes from last Friday’s draw with Cardiff as they aim to continue their run of seven games unbeaten and push towards a spot in the championship playoffs.

There are two changes in the back three as Jacob Stockdale, Ulster’s top try scorer in the PRO12 this season, comes in at fullback to replace the injured Jared Payne. Andrew Trimble, who made his return from a hand injury in a second-half appearance last weekend, is preferred to Craig Gilroy on the right wing with Charles Piutau retaining the number 11 jersey.

Chris Henry is the sole change in the pack as he comes in at openside flanker, with Sean Reidy shifting to number 8 and Iain Henderson continuing at blindside.


(15-9): J Stockdale, A Trimble (Capt), L Marshall, S Olding, C Piutau, P Jackson, R Pienaar;
(1-8): A Warwick, R Best, W Herbst, K Treadwell, A O’Connor, I Henderson, C Henry, S Reidy;

Replacements (16-23): R Herring, C Black, R Ah You, R Diack, C Ross, P Marshall, S McCloskey, C Gilroy.

Director of Rugby Rassie Erasmus makes nine changes to his starting XV.

Included in the starting line-up are Donnacha Ryan and Tyler Bleyendaal having completed their return to play protocols this week.

Ian Keatley is named in the replacements after rehabbing a knee ligament injury sustained against Cardiff Blues at the start of March, while James Cronin is also named after overcoming a bang to his knee in last weekend’s encounter against Glasgow Warriors.

CJ Stander and Conor Murray have both been ruled out and remain a doubt for their Champions Cup semi-final clash with Saracens.

Munster:  Simon Zebo; Darren Sweetnam, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; Tyler Bleyendaal, Duncan Williams; Dave Kiloyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Donnacha Ryan, Billy Holland; Peter O’Mahony Capt., Tommy O’Donnell, Jack O’Donoghue.

Replacements:  Rhys Marshall, James Cronin, Stephen Archer, Dave O’Callaghan, Jean Deysel, Angus Lloyd, Ian Keatley, Andrew Conway.

Follow Me