Breaking: England Team Named For Six Nations Opener


Eddie Jones has named his England side for their Six Nations opener with France.

There are five changes to the starting XV that defeated Australia at the end of last year to complete an unbeaten 2016.

Elliot Daly starts on the left wing with Jonny May installed on the right. In the scrum Joe Marler packs down at loosehead, Joe Launchbury is named in the second-row and Maro Itoje (Saracens) starts at blindside flanker making up a match-day XV totalling 595 caps.

“We’ve been able to select a very strong and experienced team to play against France and we are excited to get the tournament underway,” said England head coach Eddie Jones.

“There’s a great rivalry between the countries so we’re looking forward to a great occasion playing against one of England’s oldest foes.


England XV

15. Mike Brown (vice captain, Harlequins, 55 caps), 14. Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 22 caps), 13. Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 29 caps), 12. Owen Farrell (vice captain, Saracens, 47 caps), 11. Elliot Daly (Wasps, 8 caps), 10. George Ford (Bath Rugby, 30 caps), 9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 65 caps), 1. Joe Marler (Harlequins, 46 caps), 2. Dylan Hartley (captain, Northampton Saints, 79 caps), 3. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 69 caps), 4. Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 37 caps), 5. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 53 caps), 6. Maro Itoje (Saracens, 7 caps), 7. Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 45 caps), 8. Nathan Hughes (Wasps, 3 caps).


16. Jamie George (Saracens, 12 caps), 17. Matt Mullan (Wasps, 13 caps), 18. Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 4 caps), 19. Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints, 5 caps), 20. James Haskell (Wasps, 70 caps), 21. Danny Care (Harlequins, 66 caps), 22. Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors, 3 caps), 23. Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 18 caps).

Follow Me