All Blacks Team Named For Rugby Championship Opener With Argentina


Head coach Steve Hansen and his selectors have named the All Blacks team that will take on Argentina this weekend in the Rugby Championship at Jose Amalfitani Stadium in Buenos Aires.

The matchday 23 sees a blend of experience and youth with five uncapped All Blacks named: winger Sevu Reece will make his Test debut on the right wing, while the uncapped Atu Moli and new All Blacks Luke Jacobson, Josh Ioane and Braydon Ennor are all named on the bench.

All Blacks Head Coach Steve Hansen said the team has had a good week’s preparation after travelling from New Zealand last weekend.

“As always, with the first game of the season, we’ve worked hard on building our relationships, re-establishing our connections and combinations and getting clarity in our roles. We’ll continue to nail the details further in training throughout the week so that we are bright, clear and excited to play with real intensity come Saturday,” Hansen said.

“It’s going to be exciting to watch how the new All Blacks perform along with their more experienced teammates.  The team is a mixture of experience and raw enthusiasm, which I’m sure everyone is looking forward to seeing come together and play.”

New Zealand team vs Argentina ( Test caps in brackets. * new cap):

1. Ofa Tuungafasi (26)
2. Dane Coles (60)
3. Angus Ta’avao (3)
4. Brodie Retallick (75)
5. Patrick Tuipulotu (21)
6. Vaea Fifita (9)
7. Sam Cane – captain (58)
8. Ardie Savea (35)
9. Aaron Smith (82)
10. Beauden Barrett (73)
11. Jordie Barrett (9)
12. Ngani Laumape (10)
13. Anton Lienert-Brown (33)
14. Sevu Reece *
15. Ben Smith (72)

16. Liam Coltman (4)
17. Atu Moli *
18. Nepo Laulala (17)
19. Jackson Hemopo (3)
20. Luke Jacobson *
21. Brad Weber (1)
22. Josh Ioane *
23. Braydon Ennor *

Follow Me