Australian Super Rugby Franchise Set To Be Axed From Competition

Australian franchise the Western Force are set to be axed from Super Rugby.

The Daily Telegraph report that the Force will be the Australian franchise to be cut from the competition as part of a proposed SANZAAR move to reduce the number of teams from 18 to 15.

As a result the majority of contracted Force players, aside from senior Wallabies in Dane Haylett-Petty and Adam Coleman, will be automatically moved to new franchises by the ARU according to the Telegraph.

A key SANZAAR meeting is scheduled for April 6, and while there is a general agreement that Super Rugby must be slimmed down to 15 sides, a current stumbling block is reportedly the South African government’s backing to keep the Southern Kings involved in the competition, despite low crowds and poor performances on the field.

Should South Africa decide it cannot cut two teams, then the competition could remain with 18 sides in 2018.

Follow Me