Sexton & Internationals Return As Leinster Name Strong Team For Dragons Clash

Back in action.

Head coach Leo Cullen has named his Leinster team for tomorrow’s Guinness PRO14 Round 3 clash with Bernard Jackman’s Dragons at the RDS Arena in Dublin.

There is a first game of the season for club captain Johnny Sexton while a number of other internationals are also selected for the first time in a match day 23.

Rob Kearney comes in at full back which means that Jordan Larmour moves to the right wing from last week, while Dave Kearney comes onto the left wing. In the centre Robbie Henshaw and Garry Ringrose are partnered for the first time this season with Ringrose making his first appearance.

Ed Byrne makes his first start of the new campaign from loosehead prop, as does Andrew Porter at tighthead. Seán Cronin is selected between them at hooker. Scott Fardy is joined by James Ryan for his seasonal bow, while in the back row Max Deegan, Josh van der Flier and Jack Conan complete the pack.

Leinster Rugby (caps in brackets): 

15. Rob Kearney (197)
14. Jordan Larmour (23)
13. Garry Ringrose (50)
12. Robbie Henshaw (25)
11. Dave Kearney (123)
10. Johnny Sexton (148) CAPTAIN 
9. Jamison Gibson-Park (53)
1. Ed Byrne (24)
2. Seán Cronin (154)
3. Andrew Porter (32)
4. Scott Fardy (23)
5. James Ryan (15)
6. Max Deegan (23)
7. Josh van der Flier (60)
8. Jack Conan (75)

16. Bryan Byrne (27)
17. Peter Dooley (49)
18. Tadhg Furlong (85)
19. Ross Molony (65)
20. Caelan Doris (2)
21. Hugh O’Sullivan (0)
22. Noel Reid (101)
23. Joe Tomane (2)