Nominees For Irish Rugby Players Awards Announced

Jason Hennessy

Jason Hennessy

Jason is the editor here at RugbyLAD and a proud Limerick man.
Jason Hennessy


James Ryan and Jack Carty were on hand today to announce the nominees for the 2019 Zurich Players’ Player of the Year Award.

In contention for the award are four Irish internationals who have all excelled for their country and respective provinces this season. Still only 22, James Ryan cemented his reputation as one of the best second-row players in the world with a series of outstanding performances for both Leinster Rugby and Ireland this season.

House of Rugby is back with a brand new URC show – fronted by RugbyLAD founder Jason Hennessy and Ireland international Megan Williams. Follow and subscribe to it HERE.

Ryan is joined on the shortlist by Munster Rugby players Peter O’Mahony and Tadhg Beirne. O’Mahony, who was named man of the match in Ireland’s historic Test victory over the All Blacks in Dublin last November, has been instrumental in leading Munster Rugby this season as captain to a third consecutive Heineken Cup semi-final.

Tadhg Beirne has also been nominated following a stellar season for Munster Rugby that saw him earn his first cap for Ireland.

Jack Carty completes the nominees having become Connacht Rugby’s record points scorer in addition to making his international debut against Italy last February.

It has been a memorable year for Ryan who has also been nominated for the Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year Award. As with last year, he joins Jordan Larmour (Leinster) and Jacob Stockdale (Ulster) on the shortlist.

Alongside Keith Earls, Larmour and Stockdale also supply some outstanding efforts to contest the Volkswagen Try of the Year Award.

The Vodafone Medal for Excellence will be awarded to the individual who has shown exceptional commitment to the game of rugby both on and off the field. Nominated by their peers this year are Darren Cave (Ulster), Rhys Ruddock (Leinster) and James Tracy (Leinster).