Ireland team named for Rugby World Cup clash with Tonga

Round two.

Head coach Andy Farrell has named his Ireland team for this weekend’s crucial Rugby World Cup clash with Tonga in Pool B.

Farrell has made two changes in personnel to his backline as Mack Hansen and Conor Murray are named in the starting XV, while Ronan Kelleher and Josh van der Flier come into the pack.

Hansen is selected in the back three alongside Hugo Keenan and James Lowe, with Bundee Aki and Garry Ringrose continuing their midfield partnership. Murray comes into the scrum-half position to partner captain Johnny Sexton in the half-backs.

Up front, Kelleher starts alongside Andrew Porter and Tadhg Furlong, with Tadhg Beirne shifting to the second row to pack down alongside James Ryan. Last weekend’s Player of the Match, Peter O’Mahony, is named at blindside, with van der Flier at openside and Caelan Doris at number eight.

There are a number of players on the replacements bench in line for their Rugby World Cup debuts, as David Kilcoyne and Finlay Bealham join Rob Herring as the front row reinforcements, while Iain Henderson and Ryan Baird cover the second row and back row respectively. Craig Casey, Ross Byrne, and Robbie Henshaw complete the matchday 23.

As Team B for the fixture, Ireland will wear their Canterbury alternate kit for Saturday’s match as part of World Rugby’s colour blindness protocols.

All the action is live on RTÉ2 in the Republic of Ireland and ITV in the United Kingdom.

Ireland team vs Tonga

15. Hugo Keenan
14. Mack Hansen
13. Garry Ringrose
12. Bundee Aki
11. James Lowe
10. Johnny Sexton (c)
9. Conor Murray

1. Andrew Porter
2. Ronan Kelleher
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Tadhg Beirne
5. James Ryan
6. Peter O’Mahony
7. Josh van der Flier
8. Caelan Doris


16. Rob Herring
17. David Kilcoyne
18. Finlay Bealham
19. Iain Henderson
20. Ryan Baird
21. Craig Casey
22. Ross Byrne
23. Robbie Henshaw

Follow Me