Ireland ring the changes as team named for second Test with South Africa

Here we go.

Ireland head coach Andy Farrell has named his side for this weekend’s hugely anticipated second Test against South Africa in Durban.

Caelan Doris captains the team for the second time as Ireland bid to level the two-match Series at Hollywood Bets King’s Park.

After making his Test debut last weekend in Pretoria, Jamie Osborne continues at fullback in an unchanged back three alongside James Lowe and Calvin Nash.

In midfield, Garry Ringrose comes into the side to partner Robbie Henshaw, while there is an all-Munster half-back pairing with Conor Murray named at scrum-half and Jack Crowley at out-half.

In the pack, Andrew Porter, Rónan Kelleher, and Tadhg Furlong are in the front row, with Joe McCarthy and James Ryan named in the engine room. Tadhg Beirne switches to blindside flanker, with Josh van der Flier at openside and Doris captaining the side from number eight.

There are strong options for Farrell to call upon from the bench, with Rob Herring, Cian Healy, Finlay Bealham, Ryan Baird, and Peter O’Mahony providing the forward replacements, as Caolin Blade, Ciaran Frawley and Stuart McCloskey complete the Ireland Match Day 23.

Ireland (v South Africa)

15. Jamie Osborne
14. Calvin Nash
13. Garry Ringrose
12. Robbie Henshaw
11. James Lowe
10. Jack Crowley
9. Conor Murray

1. Andrew Porter
2. Rónan Kelleher
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Joe McCarthy
5. James Ryan
6. Tadhg Beirne
7. Josh van der Flier
8. Caelan Doris (c)


16. Rob Herring
17. Cian Healy
18. Finlay Bealham
19. Ryan Baird
20. Peter O’Mahony
21. Caolin Blade
22. Ciaran Frawley
23. Stuart McCloskey

Follow Me