Eddie Jones Calls Up Replacement Scrumhalf Following Ben Youngs Injury


England have called up Saracens scrumhalf Richard Wigglesworth to replace the injured Ben Youngs ahead of Saturday’s crucial Six Nations match against Wales at Twickenham.

Youngs was picked ahead of Danny Care against Italy, but was carried off early in England’s 46-15 demolition of Conor O’She’s side in Rome.

Wigglesworth, 34, has won 27 England caps but has not played a Test for his country since 2015. Wasps number eight Nathan Hughes and Exeter hooker Luke Cowan-Dickie have also been included in the 32-man squad.

England squad in full:

Backs: Mike Brown (Harlequins), Nathan Earle (Saracens), Harry Mallinder (Northampton Saints), Jonny May (Leicester Tigers), Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks), Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby), Danny Care (Harlequins), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Leicester Tigers), Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors), Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)

Forwards: James Haskell (Wasps)*, Nathan Hughes (Wasps), Nick Isiekwe (Saracens), Maro Itoje (Saracens), George Kruis (Saracens), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs), Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Jamie George (Saracens), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs), Joe Marler (Harlequins)*, Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs).

*unavailable for selection due to suspension

Follow Me