Watch: Should Chris Ashton Have Been Cited For This Incident With Luke Marshall
Latest posts by Jason Hennessy (see all)
- Keith Earls Opens About His Struggles In Incredible Honest & Open Rare Interview - October 16, 2021
- Big Names Return As Munster & Connacht Name Teams For URC Showdown In Thomond Park - October 15, 2021
- The Bookies Favourites & Dark Horses Ahead of the Champions Cup - October 11, 2021
Josaia Raisuqe was given a hefty suspension last week for an eye gouge on Munster captain CJ Stander.
Saracens winger Chris Ashton may count himself very lucky to have only been penalised for a similar incident against Ulster at the weekend.
Neck rolls have been a hot topic the past year with Rugby World Cup officials heavily policing them. Marshall also seems to suggest that Ashton made contact with the eyes. Referee Jerome Garces checked with his TMO however but found nothing.
“Nothing clear and dangerous for me about the finger in the eyes,” said Garces, before explaining that Ashton should still be penalised for the way he cleared out the Ulster centre.
Should Ashton consider himself lucky?