Watch: Ireland Nominated For Try Of The Year As World Rugby Reveals Shortlists

Jamie Heaslip celebrates scoring their fourth try 12/3/2016

Ireland have been nominated for World Rugby try of the year with the rugby body release their shortlists today.

The try scored by number 8 Jamie Heaslip was part of an amazing team effort against Italy in the Six Nations. Joe Schmidt’s men will be up against  New Zealand and Japan thanks to their efforts scored by TJ Perenara and Kaito Shigeno respectively.

England, the Olympic gold winning Fiji sevens team and World Cup winners New Zealand have all made the shortlist for team of the year with all three of their coaches making up the shortlist for World Rugby coach of the year.

World Rugby Awards 2016 shortlists

World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year

Osea Kolinisau (Fiji)
Seabelo Senatla (South Africa)
Virimi Vakatawa (France)

World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year

Charlotte Caslick (Australia)
Emily Scarratt (England)
Portial Woodman (New Zealand)


World Rugby Team of the Year 

Fiji Sevens
New Zealand

World Rugby Coach of the Year

Steve Hansen (New Zealand)
Eddie Jones (England)
Ben Ryan (Fiji Sevens)

World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year

Maro Itoje (England)
Anton Lienert-Brown (New Zealand)
Ardie Savea (New Zealand)

IRPA Try of the Year

Jamie Heaslip (Ireland, v Italy)
TJ Perenara (New Zealand, v Argentina)
Kaito Shigeno (Japan, v Scotland)

World Rugby Referee Award

Jérôme Garcès (France)
Alhambra Nievas (Spain)
Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa)

Follow Me