Stephen Jones Names His Lions 2017 Squad


One year from now we will be looking ahead the Lions tour of New Zealand and should have a fair idea of who’s going to be on the plane that summer as the Six Nations comes to a close.

Highly respected Welsh journalist Stephen Jones has had a go at predicting his 35-man Lions squad for 2017 which includes 13 Englishmen, 12 Welsh, 6 Scots and shockingly just 5 Irishmen.

Jones believes Irish pairing Johnny Sexton and Conor Murray won’t make the cut and either will the likes of Sean O’Brien, Peter O’Mahony and CJ Stander. Interestingly Jones selects Dave Kearney ahead of the likes of previous tourers Keith Earls, Simon Zebo and Tommy Bowe.

Thankfully Jones won’t be selecting the 2017 Lions squad.

Stephen Jones’ 2017 Lions squad

Fullback: Stuart Hogg (Scotland), Mike Brown (England) and Leigh Halfpenny (Wales).

Wing: George North (Wales), Anthony Watson (England) and Dave Kearney (Ireland).

Centre: Jamie Roberts (Wales), Jonathan Davies (Wales), Robbie Henshaw (Ireland) and Elliot Daly (England).

Out-half: Owen Farrell (England), Finn Russell (Scotland) and Dan Biggar (Wales).

Scrum-half: Rhys Webb (Wales), Ben Youngs (England) and Greig Laidlaw (Scotland).

Prop: Jack McGrath (Ireland), WP Nel (Scotland), Samson Lee (Wales), Mako Vunipola (England) and Jake Cooper-Woolley (England).

Hooker: Dylan Hartley (England), Jamie George (England) and Richard Hibbard (Wales).

Second Row: Luke Charteris (Wales), Alun Wyn Jones (Wales), Ultan Dillane (Ireland), Jonny Gray (Scotland) and George Kruis (England).

Back Row: Sam Warburton (Wales), John Hardie (Scotland), Iain Henderson (Ireland), Maro Itoje (England), James Haskell (England), Billy Vunipola (England) and Toby Faletau (Wales).

Follow Me