South Africa Name Monstrous Team To Take On England At Twickenham


South Africa head coach Rassie Erasmus has named one hell of a team to take on England in Twickenham this weekend.

Duane Vermeulen and Warren Whiteley both return to the Springbok starting team and together with Siya Kolisi they will form a new-look loose forward combination.

They’re part of a monstrous pack that includes the likes of Malcolm Marx, Pieter-Steph du Toit and Eben Etzebeth. In total Erasmus has made seven changes to the side that took on the All Blacks three weeks ago (European-based players were not considered for selection because the match falls outside the international Test window.)

In the backs – Damian Willemse is set to make his starting debut for the Springboks at fullback. Willemse has made three appearances off the bench already and he comes into the starting team in place of Willie le Roux, while Sbu Nkosi returns to right wing in place of Cheslin Kolbe.

Springboks vs England

15 Damian Willemse, 14 S’bu Nkosi, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Duane Vermeulen, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Steven Kitshoff

Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 RG Snyman, 20 Lood de Jager, 21 Embrose Papier, 22 Elton Jantjies, 23 André Esterhuizen.

Eddie Jones named his England team earlier this morning. You can check that out here.