Ronan O’Gara Set To Have Rugby’s Highest Honour Bestowed Upon Him

Hall of Famer.

Former Munster and Ireland outhalf, and current Crusaders coach has capped off an incredible week, after being named as one of five legends who will be inducted into this year’s World Rugby Hall of Fame.

World Rugby has announced that five legends of the game in Liza Burgess (Wales), Stephen Larkham (Australia), Pierre Villepreux (France), Bryan Williams (New Zealand) and O’Gara will be inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame in 2018.

This year’s inductees will be honoured at a special ceremony in Rugby, England, on 12 September. The ceremony will be held at the state-of-the-art physical home of the Hall of Fame, which celebrates the inspirational journey of the game from its humble origins to its global present, played by millions of men, women and children.

O’Gara, Villepreux, Williams and Burgess will attend the prestigious event, which will celebrate their careers and contributions to the game. Larkham, due to his involvement in The Rugby Championship, will receive his accolade at a special ceremony on 17 August in Sydney, the day before Australia’s Bledisloe Cup opener with New Zealand.

World Rugby Chairman and Hall of Fame inductee Bill Beaumont said:

“The World Rugby Hall of Fame importantly acknowledges and celebrates the true legends of the game, celebrating those who have made outstanding contributions throughout their careers while embodying rugby’s values. 

“On behalf of the rugby family we would like to congratulate this year’s five new inductees, Stephen Larkham, Ronan O’Gara, Pierre Villepreux, Byran Williams and Liza Burgess as they are recognised and honoured for their immense contributions to rugby.

“Each have left their mark on the sport and through their achievements and character, inspired millions to play and support rugby worldwide, and we look forward to honouring them in the coming weeks.”

The announcement comes just days after O’Gara was crowned a Super Rugby champion in just his first season with the Crusders since joining them in January.