Picking A 36-Man Ireland Squad For Their Australia Tour

Down Under.

Ireland will take on Michael Cheika’s Wallabies in a three-Test series this June, and will be hoping to continue where they left off at the Six Nations last month.

Their Grand Slam win has moved them up to 2nd in the world, and a series win over Australia would no doubt cement that position. We’re also just over a year out from the Rugby World Cup in Japan, so building momentum at this stage of the cycle is key.

House of Rugby is back with a brand new URC show – fronted by RugbyLAD founder Jason Hennessy and Ireland international Megan Williams. Follow and subscribe to it HERE.

In terms of a squad for this summer, we expect head coach Joe Schmidt to bring a very strong one. The likes of Johnny Sexton have already said they want to tour this summer, and there’s absolutely no doubt Schmidt will be going to Australia expecting to win.

That being said we reckon there won’t be a huge difference between his Six Nations squad and his touring squad come June. Depending on injuries and recoveries between now and then, we reckon it will be very similar.

Sean O’Brien will miss the tour, so we’ve gone with Ulster-bound Jordi Murphy to retain his spot in the squad. We also expect a first call-up for Munster bound Tadhg Beirne. In-form Jack O’Donoghue could also earn a call-up, depending on the fitness of Rhys Ruddock.

In the backs, Andrew Conway should come straight back in after missing the Six Nations through injury. Keith Earls should be fit and ready to go and we reckon his Munster teammate Sam Arnold could get the call. We’ve also given Ross Byrne the nod over Ian Keatley.

Have a look at our squad in full below and let us know if you would make any changes.

Potential Ireland Squad – Australia Tour


Rory Best (Ulster) (c)
Jack Conan (Leinster)
Sean Cronin (Leinster)
Ultan Dillane (Connacht)
Tadhg Furlong (Leinster)
Cian Healy (Leinster)
Iain Henderson (Ulster)
Niall Scannell (Munster)
Dave Kilcoyne (Munster)
Dan Leavy (Leinster)
Jack McGrath (Leinster)
Jordi Murphy (Leinster)
Peter O’Mahony (Munster)
Andrew Porter (Leinster)
Tadhg Beirne (Munster)
James Ryan (Leinster)
John Ryan (Munster)
CJ Stander (Munster)
Devin Toner (Leinster)
Jack O’Donoghue (Munster)

BACKS (16)

Bundee Aki (Connacht)
Joey Carbery (Leinster)
Andrew Conway (Munster)
Keith Earls (Munster)
Garry Ringrose (Leinster)
Robbie Henshaw (Leinster)
Rob Kearney (Leinster)
Ross Byrne (Leinster)
Jordan Larmour (Leinster)
John Cooney (Ulster)
Sam Arnold (Munster)
Luke McGrath (Leinster)
Conor Murray (Munster)
Johnny Sexton (Leinster)
Rory Scannell (Munster)
Jacob Stockdale (Ulster)


Ireland vs Australia, Saturday June 9, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Ireland vs Australia, Saturday June 16, AAMI Park, Melbourne

Ireland vs Australia, Saturday June 23, Allianz Stadium, Sydney