Bleyendaal Returns As Munster Team Named For PRO14 Clash With Cardiff

Captain Jack.

The Munster team to face Cardiff Blues in Wales on Saturday evening has been named with Jack O’Donoghue set to captain the side for the first time.

24-year-old O’Donoghue becomes the first Waterford player to captain Munster in the professional era having previously captained Munster A along with Waterpark, Munster and Ireland at underage level.

There are 10 changes to the side that recorded a bonus-point win over Zebre at Thomond Park last Saturday night. Ireland international Rory Scannell comes back into the side to partner Sammy Arnold in the centres with Ian Keatley partnering Duncan Williams at half-back.

Gerbrandt Grobler makes his first start in the PRO14 and partners Darren O’Shea in the second row.

In the replacements, Tyler Bleyendaal returns from a neck injury and could make his first appearance since the Champions Cup clash in Castres last October.


Munster: Stephen Fitzgerald; Darren Sweetnam, Sammy Arnold, Rory Scannell, Ronan O’Mahony; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Rhys Marshall, John Ryan; Gerbrandt Grobler, Darren O’Shea; Jack O’Donoghue (C), Chris Cloete, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Mike Sherry, James Cronin, Stephen Archer, Jean Kleyn, Dave O’Callaghan, James Hart, Tyler Bleyendaal, Simon Zebo.

Follow Me