Munster A Team Reveals Key Selection Decision For Champions Cup Quarter Final


Captain Peter O’Mahony looks set to start at seven for Munster in their Champions Cup quarter final clash with Toulon on Saturday.

The southern province are without the services of Tommy O’Donnell and Chris Cloete, with Conor Oliver the only other recognised openside in the squad.

But Oliver has now been named in the Munster A team for tomorrow’s British & Irish Cup quarter final with rivals Leinster.

O’Mahony this week said  he “would be well able” to play in the seven shirt if head coach Johann van Graan opts to move him across to openside. And it now appears this will indeed happen, with Robin Copeland likely to get the nod in a back-row comprised of him, O’Mahony and Stander.

Munster A: Stephen Fitzgerald; Calvin Nash, Dave Johnston (C), Alex McHenry, Ronan O’Mahony; Bill Johnston, Jack Stafford; Jeremy Loughman, Kevin O’Byrne, Brian Scott; Sean O’Connor, Darren O’Shea; Dave O’Callaghan, Conor Oliver, Jack O’Sullivan.

Replacements: Mike Sherry, Ciaran Parker, John Foley, Jack Daly, John Poland, Alan Tynan, Jack Power.

Follow Me