Lions Return As Leinster Team Named For PRO14 Clash With Edinburgh

Leinster Rugby Head Coach Leo Cullen named his team for tomorrow’s clash with Edinburgh at the RDS.

A number of star names have returned, including four players who toured with the British & Irish Lions over the summer, with playmaker and Test star Johnny Sexton returning to captain the side

Joey Carbery is selected at full back for the third game in a row, with Dave Kearney again selected on the left wing and Fergus McFadden making his first start of the Guinness PRO14 campaign on the right wing having recovered from a hamstring injury picked up ahead of the Southern Kings game.

In the pack another two Lions line out with Jack McGrath and Tadhg Furlong making their seasonal bows, with Seán Cronin in between the two at hooker. Scott Fardy and Devin Toner both return to the second row having missed the mini-tour to South Africa.

In the back row Rhys Ruddock and Jordi Murphy are selected at blindside and openside with Seán O’Brien the final Lions addition at No. 8.

Leinster Rugby (caps in brackets): 

15. Joey Carbery (25)
14. Fergus McFadden (152)
13. Rory O’Loughlin (25)
12. Noel Reid (84)
11. Dave Kearney (113)
10. Johnny Sexton (136) CAPTAIN 
9. Luke McGrath (77)
1. Jack McGrath (113)
2. Seán Cronin (132)
3. Tadhg Furlong (67)
4. Devin Toner (200)
5. Scott Fardy (2)
6. Rhys Ruddock (134)
7. Jordi Murphy (88)
8. Seán O’Brien (110)

16. Bryan Byrne (18)
17. Ed Byrne (10)
18. Andrew Porter (12)
19. Ross Molony (47)
20. Max Deegan (5)
21. Jamison Gibson-Park (31)
22. Ross Byrne (27)
23. Jordan Larmour (3)

Follow Me