Leinster & Ulster Teams Named For Find Round Of PRO12

Ulster will be hoping for a miracle.

Roger Wilson, Ulster’s most capped player, will earn his 221st and final cap for the Province when he starts at number 8 in Saturday’s sold out clash with Leinster.

Ruan Pienaar, who has become a favourite with the Kingspan Stadium faithful during the past seven seasons, will also make his final competitive appearance for the club on Saturday, as he adds to his tally of 140 caps and 877 points in the Ulster jersey.

While qualification for the Guinness PRO12 playoffs is still mathematically possible, it would require the unlikely scenario of Ulster beating table toppers Leinster with a try-scoring bonus point, Ospreys losing to Scarlets without any bonus points, and Ulster making up a points difference of 73.

Ulster team & replacements to play Leinster, Guinness PRO12, Saturday 6th May, Kingspan Stadium (5.15pm kick-off, live on BBC NI):
(15-9): C Gilroy, A Trimble (Capt), L Marshall, S McCloskey, C Piutau, P Jackson, R Pienaar;
(1-8): A Warwick, R Herring, R Ah You, K Treadwell, A O’Connor, R Diack, S Reidy, R Wilson;
Replacements (16-23): J Andrew, K McCall, W Herbst, C Henry, N Timoney, P Marshall, P Nelson, J Stockdale

Only four players start from the Leinster team that accounted for the Glasgow Warriors last weekend, although Jack Conan who was named for that match but was unable to start, is again selected at number eight.

Captain Isa Nacewa comes in at full back with Fergus McFadden and Adam Byrne both retained on the left and right wing respectively. Noel Reid and Garry Ringrose come back into the centre with Irish internationals Luke McGrath and Joey Carbery likewise coming back in at nine and ten.

In the pack, British & Irish Lions Jack McGrath and Tadhg Furlong come in on either side of the retained James Tracy, with Devin Toner and Hayden Triggs recalled to the second row.

Follow Me