Leinster Team Named For PRO14 Clash With Zebre At The RDS

Strong selection.

Head coach Leo Cullen has named his Leinster team for tomorrow’s PRO14 clash with Zebre at the RDS Arena in Dublin.

There are a number of changes and a potential debut off the bench. But most significantly Cullen has appointed Devin Toner as captain for the game. It is the first time that the Ireland lock will lead his home province on the occasion of his 213th cap.

Elsewhere Barry Daly starts at full back with Adam Byrne on the right wing and James Lowe on the left. Academy back Conor O’Brien starts alongside Rory O’Loughlin in the centre.

In the half backs Jamison Gibson-Park is joined by Ross Byrne. Cian Healy and Tadhg Furlong are the starting props this week with James Tracy getting the nod at hooker.

Toner captains the side from second row alongside Mick Kearney. In the back-row Josh Murphy, starts at blindside, with Dan Leavy at seven and Max Deegan starting at No. 8.

Leinster Rugby (caps in brackets):

15. Barry Daly (23)
14. Adam Byrne (35)
13. Rory O’Loughlin (38)
12. Conor O’Brien (2)
11. James Lowe (9)
10. Ross Byrne (45)
9. Jamison Gibson-Park (46)
1. Cian Healy (185)
2. James Tracy (59)
3. Tadhg Furlong (79)
4. Devin Toner (212) CAPTAIN
5. Mick Kearney (32)
6. Josh Murphy (8)
7. Dan Leavy (50)
8. Max Deegan (17)

16. Bryan Byrne (25)
17. Peter Dooley (46)
18. Vakh Abdaladze (1)
19. Ross Molony (60)
20. Peadar Timmins (10)
21. Nick McCarthy (22)
22. Ciarán Frawley (2)
23. Gavin Mullin (0)

Follow Me