Leinster Name Team For Champions Cup Clash With Bath

Leinster v Bath - European Rugby Champions Cup Quarter-Final

After the Captain’s Run this morning in the RDS Arena, Leinster Rugby Head Coach Leo Cullen has named his squad to face Bath Rugby in Round 5 of the European Rugby Chamions Cup tomorrow in the RDS (Kick Off: 5.30pm – live on SKY Sports, updates on RTÉ Radio).

It is very much a mix of youth and experience with six players – Garry Ringrose, Luke McGrath, Peter Dooley, James Tracy, Tadhg Furlong and Ross Molony – making their first European starts with three of them still in the Leinster Academy.

Zane Kirchner, the 31 times capped Springbok comes in at full back, with Isa Nacewa captaining from the right wing and Dave Kearney, who scored two tries last weekend against the Ospreys, on the left.

In the centre Ben Te’o and Garry Ringrose are once again selected having performed well together in the recent Interpro victory over Connacht, while in the half backs Luke McGrath makes his first European start in what will be his 38th cap for the province alongside Ian Madigan.

Leinster1 728x90-1

It’s a new look front row with Peter Dooley, James Tracy and Tadhg Furlong starting for the first time in the Champions Cup. Similar to McGrath, Furlong has 39 Leinster caps to his name to date, but tomorrow will be his first European start having come off the bench in six games to date scoring one try against Castres last season. Furlong has also been capped three times by Ireland.

Mike McCarthy is joined by Ross Molony in the second row while in the back row Rhys Ruddock starts at blind side flanker, with Josh van der Flier on the open side. Jordi Murphy completes the pack from number eight.

With 14,500 tickets sold, tickets for the game are still on sale from leinsterrugby.ie and from the ticket office on match day from 4.00pm.


15. Zane Kirchner
14. Isa Nacewa CAPTAIN
13. Garry Ringrose
12. Ben Te’o
11. Dave Kearney
10. Ian Madigan
9. Luke McGrath
1. Peter Dooley
2. James Tracy
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Ross Molony
5. Mike McCarthy
6. Rhys Ruddock
7. Josh van der Flier
8. Jordi Murphy

16. Sean Cronin
17. Jack McGrath
18. Marty Moore
19. Tom Denton
20. Sean O’Brien
21. Eoin Reddan
22. Johnny Sexton
23. Noel Reid

Referee: Pascal Gauzere (France)
Touch Judge 1: Maxime Chalon (France)
Touch Judge 2: Jean-Luc Rebollal (France)
TMO: Eric Gonthier (France)
Citing Commissioner: Alberto Recaldini (Ital

Follow Me