Leinster & Connacht Name Teams For New Year’s Day Inter-Pro Clash

Derby day.

Leinster and Connacht have named their teams for their New Year’s Day inter-pro clash in the Guinness PRO14 at the RDS. With three inter-pro fixtures in 11 days Leinster boss Leo Cullen has retained only two players from the XV that accounted for Munster on St. Stephen’s Day.

Rob Kearney comes in at full back with Fergus McFadden also recalled on the right wing. James Lowe makes his first appearance in the RDS Arena and is retained on the left wing for his third cap for Leinster.

Noel Reid and Garry Ringrose are paired in the centre with Luke McGrath and captain Johnny Sexton as the half backs. In the back row Dan Leavy is the only man retained from the Munster game after his Guinness Man of the Match award, with Josh van der Flier and Max Deegan joining him to complete the Leinster Rugby XV.


15. Rob Kearney (190)
14. Fergus McFadden (160)
13. Garry Ringrose (42)
12. Noel Reid (91)
11. James Lowe (2)
10. Johnny Sexton (141) CAPTAIN
9. Luke McGrath (85)

1. Peter Dooley (41)
2. Seán Cronin (141)
3. Andrew Porter (18)
4. Ross Molony (53)
5. Ian Nagle (13)
6. Dan Leavy (46)
7. Josh van der Flier (57)
8. Max Deegan (9)

16. Bryan Byrne (19)
17. Ed Byrne (15)
18. Michael Bent (98)
19. Mick Kearney (27)
20. Scott Fardy (10)
21. Nick McCarthy (15)
22. Cathal Marsh (26)
23. Rory O’Loughlin (32)

Meanwhile Connacht boss Kieran Keane has made three changes to his side that demolished Ulster at the Sportsground.

Hooker Tom McCartney, lock James Cannon and winger Cian Kelleher come into the side having all started as replacements win over Ulster last weekend.

McCartney takes his place in the front row alongside loose head Denis Coulson and tight head Finlay Bealham. Cian Kelleher joins a back three that includes the in form winger Matt Healy and full back Tiernan O’Halloran.


15.Tiernan O’Halloran
14. Cian Kelleher
13. Bundee Aki
12. Tom Farrell
11. Matt Healy
10. Jack Carty
9. Kieran Marmion

1. Denis Coulson
2. Tom McCartney
3. Finlay Bealham
4. Ultan Dillane
5. James Cannon
6. Eoghan Masterson
7. Jarrad Butler
8. John Muldoon (Capt)

16. Shane Delahunt
17. Peter McCabe
18. Conor Carey
19. Quinn Roux
20. Naulia Dawai
21. Caolin Blade
22. Eoin Griffin
23. Niyi Adeolokun.

Follow Me