IRFU Confirm 2016 Southern Hemisphere Test Matches


The IRFU have confirmed their Guinness Series for November 2016, which will include games at the Aviva Stadium against the World Champions New Zealand as well as the beaten finalists Australia.

Ireland will host a Tier 2 nation on Saturday November 12th, to be followed by the All Blacks on Saturday November 19th before the series is completed by a game against the Wallabies on Saturday, November 26th.

It will be New Zealand’s first visit to Dublin since the countries’ most recent test in November 2013, when Ireland led from the fifth minute until beyond the 80 minute mark, even going 19-0 ahead in the first quarter. But the All Blacks won 24-22 thanks to a try in over time by Ryan Crotty and a twice taken conversion by Aaron Cruden.

Ireland are now set to have two attempts to end their 28-match winless record against New Zealand – dating back to 1905 – next year given the proposed meeting in Chicago’s Soldier Field Stadium on Saturday November 5th.

As well as the Six Nations, the three November games against New Zealand and Australia will supplement the three-Test tour to South Africa next June in Cape Town, Johannesburg and Port Elizabeth. Six clashes with teams from the Rugby Championship in one calendar year is unprecedented and emulates the six games Argentina, Ireland’s World Cup quarter-final conquerors, will have against the same opponents in 2016.

2016 Guinness Series Fixtures

IRELAND vs Tier 2 Nation

Saturday 12th November KO TBC

IRELAND vs New Zealand

Saturday 19th November KO TBC

IRELAND vs Australia

Saturday 26th November KO TBC

Follow Me