Ireland Team Named For 2nd Test With Springboks


South African born lock Quinn Roux will make his international debut for Ireland against the Springboks this weekend in Johannesburg as Joe Schmidt makes five changes to his winning side for Saturday’s second Test.

Roux will partner Devin Toner in the second row, while Tadhg Furlong starts in the front row at the expense of Mike Ross.

With CJ Stander ruled out following his red card in Cape Town, the Iain Henderson gets another opportunity to shine in the backrow, where he will join Rhys Ruddock at openside and Jamie Heaslip at No.8.

Conor Murray and Paddy Jackson are retained at half-back while Stuart Olding replaces provincial colleague Luke Marshall at inside centre. He is partnered by Robbie Henshaw in midfield, who along with Murray are the only non-Ulster representatives in the backline.

Ireland (v South Africa): Jared Payne (Ulster), Andrew Trimble (Ulster), Robbie Henshaw (Connacht), Stuart Olding (Ulster), Craig Gilroy (Ulster), Paddy Jackson (Ulster), Conor Murray (Munster); Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Rhys Ruddock (Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ulster), Devin Toner (Leinster), Quinn Roux (Connacht), Tadhg Furlong (Leinster), Rory Best (Ulster, captain), Jack McGrath (Leinster)

Replacements: Richardt Strauss (Leinster), David Kilcoyne (Munster), Finlay Bealham (Connacht), Donnacha Ryan (Munster), Seán Reidy (Ulster), Kieran Marmion (Connacht), Ian Madigan (Leinster), Tiernan O’Halloran (Connacht)

Meanwhile, South Africa have made just two enforced changes to their team for the second Test as Elton Jantjes replaces the injured Pat Lambie and Pieter-Steph du Toit, who scored his first ever try in the first Test, comes in for Lood de Jager in the second row.

Morne Steyn is selected on the bench, as Ruan Combrinck and Franco Mostert are also named among the replacements.

South Africa (v Ireland): Willie le Roux; JP Pietersen, Lionel Mapoe, Damian de Allende, Lwazi Mvovo; Elton Jantjes, Faf de Klerk; Tendai Mtawarira, Adriaan Strauss (capt), Frans Malherbe; Eben Etzebeth, Pieter-Steph-S du Toit; Francois Louw, Siya Kolisi, Duane Vermeulen.

Replacements: Bongi Mbonambi, Trevor Nyakane, Julian Redelinghuys, Franco Mostert, Warren Whiteley, Rudy Paige, Morne Steyn, Ruan Combrinck.

Follow Me