Inspirational Cork Con End 7-Year Wait To Lift AIL Title, Capping Off An Incredible Season

Cork Constitution ended a seven-year wait to claim a fifth All Ireland League success against the defending champions Clontarf today.

The Munster side have enjoyed a simply incredible season, adding the All Ireland League Division 1A title to their Bateman Cup, Munster Senior Cup and Cork Charity Cup successes this season.

Con remarkably won every competition they entered this year, in what will be remembered as one of the greatest club seasons in recent memory. A 25-21 win over reigning champions Clontarf at the Aviva this afternoon ensured revenge on last season’s heartbreak.

Clontarf outscored their counterparts by three tries to one, but the boot of Tomas Quinlan ensured the AIL was coming back to Cork tonight, who racked up 20 points in a simply flawless display of the boot.



Tries: M D’Arcy, M McGrath, M Kearney

Conversions: D Joyce (2/2) Rob Keogh (1/1)

Penalties: D Joyce (0/1)

Cork Constitution

Tries: R Jermyn

Conversions: T Quinlan (1/1)

Penalties: T Quinlan (6/6)

CLONTARF: Rob Keogh; Michael Brown, Conor O’Brien, Matt D’Arcy, Mick McGrath; David Joyce, Sam Cronin; Vakh Adbaladze, Jason Harris-Wright, Royce Burke-Flynn, Ben Reilly (capt), Mick Kearney, Tony Ryan, Karl Moran, Michael Noone.

Replacements: Bryan Byrne, Adrian D’Arcy, Ivan Soroka, Mark Sutton, Rob McGrath, Jack Power, Eoghan Browne.

CORK CONSTITUTION: Shane Daly; Liam O’Connell, Ned Hodson, Niall Kenneally (capt), Rob Jermyn; Tomas Quinlan, Jason Higgins; Liam O’Connor, Vincent O’Brien, Ger Sweeney, Brian Hayes, Conor Kindregan, Graeme Lawler, James Murphy, Luke Cahill.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Rory Burke, Gavin Duffy, Ross O’Neill, JJ O’Neill, John Poland, Sean O’Leary

Referee: Sean Gallagher (IRFU)

Follow Me