Four New Faces Named In All Blacks Squad For Rugby Championship

Extended squad.

Head coach Steve Hansen and his fellow All Blacks selectors have named four new caps in a 39-man squad for the upcoming Rugby Championship.

Crusaders backs Sevu Reece and Braydon Ennor, Chiefs loose forward Luke Jacobson and Highlanders outhalf Josh Ioane have been named as All Blacks for the first time.

The extended squad will play its first game against Argentina on July 21 – New Zealand’s first match of the 2019 Rugby Championship.

“It’s really exciting bringing the team together and we’re all looking forward to starting the work towards this year’s goals.” Hansen said

“We’re going to try and do something that’s never been done before and that’s to win three Rugby World Cups in a row.”

“However, that’s not a given. We’re going to have to be hungry for success and we’re going to have to work incredibly hard and smart to achieve this,”

All Blacks squad.

Hookers: Asafo Aumua, Dane Coles, Liam Coltman, Codie Taylor

Props: Owen Franks, Nepo Laulala, Joe Moody, Atu Moli, Angus Ta’avao, Karl Tu’inukuafe , Ofa Tuungafasi

Locks: Brodie Retallick, Patrick Tuipulotu, Samuel Whitelock

Utility forward: Jackson Hemopo

Loose forwards: Sam Cane, Vaea Fifita, Shannon Frizell, Luke Jacobson, Dalton Papalii, Kieran Read (Captain), Ardie Savea, Matt Todd

Nines: TJ Perenara, Aaron Smith, Brad Weber

Tens: Beauden Barrett, Josh Ioane, Richie Mo’unga

Centres: Jack Goodhue, Ngani Laumape, Anton Lienert-Brown, Sonny Bill Williams

Utility backs: Braydon Ennor, Jordie Barrett

Outside backs: George Bridge, Rieko Ioane, Sevu Reece, Ben Smith

Follow Me