England name their team to face Ireland as Owen Farrell saga continues


England head coach Steve Borthwick has finally named his team to take on Ireland in Dublin this weekend after he was forced to push back the announcement following the latest chapter in the Owen Farrell saga.

Farrell had his red card against Wales rescinded by Six Nations Rugby on Tuesday, but World Rugby have now stepped in to appeal that decision, with Farrell now left completely out of the England team to face number-one ranked Ireland on Saturday.

George Ford will instead start at outhalf with Manu Tuilagi returning to midfield as part of six total changes for England following their victory over Wales.

Ben Youngs, Anthony Watson, Ellis Genge and David Ribbans the other changes. Courtney Lawes will captain the side in his 99th Test match.


15. Freddie Steward (Leicester, 24 caps)
14. Anthony Watson (unattached, 55 caps)
13. Joe Marchant (Stade Francais, 17 caps)
12. Manu Tuilagi (Sale Sharks, 51 caps)
11. Elliot Daly (Saracens, 58 caps)
10. George Ford (Sale Sharks, 83 caps)
9. Ben Youngs (Leicester, 123 caps)

1. Ellis Genge (Bristol Bears, 50 caps)
2. Jamie George (Saracens, 78 caps)
3. Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 27 caps)
4. Maro Itoje (Saracens, 68 caps)
5. David Ribbans (Toulon, 6 caps)
6. Courtney Lawes (C) (Northampton, 98 caps)
7. Ben Earl (Saracens, 16 caps)
8. Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 69 caps)

16. Theo Dan (Saracens, 1 cap)
17. Joe Marler (Harlequins, 80 caps)
18. Kyle Sinckler (Bristol, 62 caps)
19. Ollie Chessum (Leicester, 9 caps)
20. Jack Willis (Toulouse, 11 caps)
21. Danny Care (Harlequins, 88 caps)
22. Marcus Smith (Harlequins, 22 caps)
23. Ollie Lawrence (Bath Rugby, 12 caps)

Follow Me