Connacht Set To Release 11 Players At The End Of The Season Including Club Stalwart

Connacht Rugby have confirmed that Ronan Loughney along with 10 more players will finish with the province at the end of the current season.

Danie Poolman, John Cooney, Nepia Fox-Matamua, Danny Qualter, Rory Parata, Shane O’Leary, Lewis Stevenson, Rory Moloney, Josh Rowland and Ivan Soroka are among those also departing the Sportsground in the summer.

32-year-old loosehead prop Loughney has been with Connacht Rugby for 12 seasons as a professional player. The Galway man was a member of the first academy squad assembled in the province and went on to play 191 games across the PRO12 and Europe competitions.

Reflecting on his Connacht career, Ronan said:

“I have had an amazing time with Connacht and am grateful to have had the opportunity to represent my home province on so many occasions. The last 12 years have been a dream come true and I am incredibly proud of what the club has achieved.
“I would like to say a huge thank you to all the great teammates, coaches, management and staff that I’ve had the privilege of working with over the years. I’ve had the honour of playing alongside a remarkable group of players who have also become close friends.
“I would also like to thank our wonderful supporters who have stood by us through thick and thin and have made the Sportsground the fortress it is today. Thanks for your incredible support down through the years.
“I am excited for the future and the next challenge. And will forever cherish my time with this great club.”

[Connacht Rugby]

Follow Me