Connacht Rugby announce the departure of 11 senior players

Exit door.

Connacht Rugby have this morning confirmed the players who will depart the western province at the end of the season.

As previously announced, Tiernan O’Halloran will retire at the end of the season after a 15-year career at his home province, while Diarmuid Kilgallen will move to Munster.

Centurions Jarrad Butler and Tom Farrell will also move on at the end of the campaign. Both players joined the province in 2017 – Butler was club captain for four seasons and earned 126 caps, while Farrell scored 21 tries in his 112 appearances for the club.

Also leaving the club are Dominic Robertson-McCoy, Tom Daly, Gavin Thornbury, Matthew Burke, Oran McNulty, and Tadgh McElroy, while Michael McDonald will return to Ulster after completing his season-long loan.

Connacht have made nine new additions to reinforce their squad as a result. As well as previously announced new signings Temi Lasisi, David O’Connor, Piers O’Conor, Adam McBurney, and Ben Murphy, also re-joining the side is Josh Murphy after his 12-month leave to complete his medical studies.

Completing the new additions next season are Academy graduates Matthew Devine, Hugh Gavin and Chay Mullins.

Follow Me