Brumbies Vs Lions: Teams & Preview


Former Wales wing Shane Williams is a shock inclusion in the British and Irish Lions team for Tuesday’s game against the Brumbies in Canberra.

The 36-year-old, who is Wales’ record try-scorer, is currently playing in Japan for Mitsubishi Dynaboars after retiring from international rugby in December 2011.

He has previously toured New Zealand and South Africa with the Lions in 2005 and 2009 respectively and was travelling to Australia to do media work.

The surprise call-up sees Williams, who will leave the squad on Wednesday, feature in a team that also includes backs Christian Wade and Brad Barritt, who have been called up as injury cover from England’s tour of Argentina.

Lions head coach Warren Gatland said: “We said we needed Shane for one game. He is already on his way here.

“We spoke to him and said the proviso is he comes into the squad on Monday and leaves the squad on Wednesday. He is happy with that.

“He’s in pretty good nick, he’s been boxing as well, hopefully that won’t be needed on Tuesday. I’m sure he’ll come in and do himself and the jersey proud.”

England centre Billy Twelvetrees, another a late-call up to cover a heavy injury list to the midfielders, makes his Lions debut against the Brumbies.

Ireland full-back Rob Kearney also makes his first start of the tour, while Scotland’s Stuart Hogg makes his second start of the trip at fly-half and lock Richie Gray returns from a shoulder injury.

The Lions, who have won their first five tour matches, will be captained by Ireland hooker Rory Best.

Lions: R Kearney; C Wade, B Barritt, B Twelvetrees, S Williams; S Hogg, B Youngs; R Grant, R Best (capt), M Stevens, I Evans, R Gray, S O’Brien, J Tipuric, T Faletau.

Replacements: R Hibbard, A Corbisiero, D Cole, G Parling, D Lydiate, C Murray, O Farrell, S Zebo

Brumbies: 15 Jesse Mogg, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Andrew Smith, 11  Clyde Rathbone, 10 Matt Toomua, 9 Ian Prior; 1  Ruan Smith, 2 Siliva Siliva , 3  Scott Sio, 4  Leon Power, 5  Sam Carter, 6 Scott Fardy, 7 Colby Faingaa, 8 Peter Kimlin (c)

Replacements:16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 Jean-Pierre Smith, 18 Chris Cocca, 19 Etienne Oosthuizen, 20 Jordan Smiler, 21 Mark Swanepoel, 22 Robbie Coleman, 23 Zack Holmes


Follow Me