6 Of Ireland’s World Cup Squad Are Back In Action This Weekend


It’s time to get back to business for some of the Irish Rugby World Cup squad

The Leinster squad will feature four players recently returned from Ireland’s World Cup campaign.

Mike McCarthy and Rhys Ruddock start in the Leinster pack while Isaac Boss – a late, late call-up for Jared Payne – and Tadhg Furlong are on the bench.

Ulster welcome back Darren Cave and Paddy Jackson who saw a combined 103 minutes of World Cup action.

Both men are named on the Ulster bench for Friday’s match against Cardiff Blues. Andrew Trimble, who was unfortunate to miss out on World Cup selection, once again starts on the right wing.

Down at Munster, meanwhile, no returnees wtih Andrew Conway starting at fullback for their league encounter with Scarlets.

Tyler Bleyendaal continues at out-half and keeps Ian Keatley on the replacements bench, while CJ Stander captains Anthony Foley’s side.


MUNSTER: Andrew Conway; Stephen Fitzgerald, David Johnston, Denis Hurley, Gerhard van den Heever; Tyler Bleyendaal, Cathal Sheridan; Dave Kilcoyne, Duncan Casey, BJ Botha; Robin Copeland, Mark Chisholm; Dave O’Callaghan, Jordan Coghlan, CJ Stander- capt.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, James Cronin, John Ryan, Dave Foley, Shane Buckley, Tomás O’Leary, Ian Keatley, Ronan O’Mahony.

ULSTER: Louis Ludik; Andrew Trimble, Sammy Arnold, Stuart McCloskey, Craig Gilroy; Ian Humphreys, Paul Marshall; Callum Black, Rob Herring (captain), Wiehahn Herbst, Lewis Stevenson, Franco van der Merwe, Roger Wilson, Sean Reidy, Nick Williams.

Replacements: John Andrew, Andrew Warwick, Ricky Lutton, Peter Browne, Willie Faloon, David Shanahan, Paddy Jackson, Darren Cave.


15. Isa Nacewa (captain),
14. Garry Ringrose
13. Ben Te’o
12. Noel Reid
11. Fergus McFadden
10. Cathal Marsh
9. Luke McGrath
1. Michael Bent
2. Aaron Dundon
3. Marty Moore
4. Ross Molony
5. Mike McCarthy
6. Rhys Ruddock
7. Josh van der Flier
8. Jack Conan

16. James Tracy
17. Peter Dooley
18. Tadhg Furlong
19. Dominic Ryan
20. Daniel Leavy
21. Isaac Boss
22. Ross Byrne
23. Cian Kelleher

Follow Me